Respectful Relationships Education

Information for schools


How do schools participate in the program?

Starick works with the Department of Education to identify schools that want to participate in the program. Participation in the program is voluntary and each school provides an Expression of Interest to show their interest. Schools that participate in the program are supported by Starick to develop an approach to Respectful Relationships Education (RRE) that suits their school’s needs and environment. This includes support to develop plans to embed a whole-of-school approach that is relevant and sustainable. 

Since 2019, Starick has worked with 47 public schools grouped into five cohorts. 


What our schools have achieved

The following real examples show what some schools have achieved as a result of engaging with the Starick RRE program.


Teaching and Learning:

  • Creating Coded Zones of Regulation, Respectful Relationships, and PBS to the Curriculum Guidelines.
  • Producing positive behaviour videos with concrete examples of how to model respect in the school context.
  • Hosting the Relationships and Sexuality Education (RSE) Project at your next teacher PD or registering your teachers to attend their annual 2-day professional development workshop, where they will teach you strategies which can be utilised in a classroom setting to address areas of relationships and sexuality education and draw your attention to the Growing and Developing Healthy Relationships (GDHR) website.
  • Engaging the RSE Project to assist with auditing your current practice, through a whole school approach. 
  • Engaging in the Tomorrow Man/Tomorrow Woman Program once a term every term for three years. 


Policy and Practice:

  • Developing a respectful relationships education policy and a respectful relationships statement.
  • Updating the school’s Care and Support Policy, which includes a Respectful Relationships and Sexual Education Policy.


School Culture and Environment:

  • Instituting school-wide behaviour expectations and agreements that were upheld by the school’s PBS incentive scheme.
  • Designing a respect mural with students.
  • Building a “Respect Wall”, highlighting what respect looks like. This was a student engaging activity.
  • Introducing LGBTQI+ accommodations, including gender neutral uniform and toilets. 


Community Partnerships:

  • Engaging parents and caregivers early by sending an introduction letter informing them of their involvement in the program with an invitation for comments.
  • Ensuring that all teaching and learning around respectful relationships was communicated via the school’s fortnightly chronicle.  School partners included SDERA, the community health nurse, community police, Holyoake, Narrogin Rainbow Women’s Centre.
  • Engaging in NAIDOC Week planning with Aboriginal Elders and organisations.


Support for staff and students:

  • Ensuring that students affected by FDV receive individualised case management.  This everyday assistance was framed through Culture & Environment and Teaching & Learning Domains. 


Professional Learning:

  • One school’s teaching staff completed Domestic Violence and Complex Trauma training.

Program components

Schools participating in the WARRTSP are supported via the following components: 

  • Info Session
  • e-Learning 
  • Workshop 1 
  • Post-workshop Visit 
  • Workshop 2 
  • Post-workshop Visit 

Tailored support is also provided throughout this period to meet the needs of individual schools.  

School cohorts

Cohort 1 

  1. Ballajura Community College 
  2. Belridge Secondary College  
  3. John Butler Primary College 
  4. Currambine Primary School 
  5. Koorana Primary School  
  6. Maida Vale Primary School 
  7. Pinjarra Primary School 
  8. Safety Bay Senior High School 
  9. Swan View Senior High School  
  10. Wirrabirra Primary School 

Cohort 2 

  1. Boyanup Primary School 
  2. Braeside Primary School 
  3. Northam Primary School 
  4. Northam Senior High School 
  5. Rostrata Primary School 
  6. Yanchep Secondary College  

Cohort 3 

  1. Bramfield Park Primary School  
  2. Butler College 
  3. Charthouse Primary School  
  4. Connolly Primary School 
  5. Eaton Community College 
  6. Joondalup Education Support Centre 
  7. Kinross College 
  8. Kinross Primary School 
  9. Lancelin Primary School 
  10. Southern River College  
  11. Yanchep Beach Primary School 

Cohort 4 

  1. Bayswater Primary School 
  2. Carnarvon Community College 
  3. Esperance Senior High School 
  4. Governor Stirling Senior High School – Midland 
  5. Hedland Senior High School 
  6. Kalgoorlie Boulder Community High School 
  7. Karratha Senior High School 
  8. Malibu School – Safety Bay 
  9. Norseman District High School 
  10. Ravensthorpe District High School 
  11. WA College of Agriculture/Narrogin 

Cohort 5

  1. Atwell College
  2. Baldivis Secondary College
  3. Bertram Primary School
  4. Brookman Primary School
  5. Broome Senior High School
  6. Butler Primary School
  7. Calista Primary School
  8. Cannington Community Education Support Centre
  9. Lynwood Senior High School
  10. Mullewa District High School
  11. Newman Senior High School
  12. Pia Wadjarri Remote Community School
  13. Roebourne District High School
  14. Sevenoaks Senior College
  15. Success Primary School
  16. South Thornlie Primary School
  17. Thornlie Senior High School
  18. Woodland Grove Primary School
  19. Yale Primary School